Value the Past, Embrace your Future

“Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.” ― Anthony G. Oettinger

This weekend was very bitter sweet.  It was our last state executive meeting before our annual Missouri FFA Convention. I think back on this past year and I wouldn’t trade any of it for the world. That’s all I get, one year; a year to make a difference in the lives of FFA members and getting to play a key role serving alongside one of the greatest student organizations. I think back at all of the great memories made, all of the laughs and stories shared, and I am truly blessed.

Career and Technical organizations, such as the FFA, play a key role in the lives of students and their development of life skills. These organizations help students become engaged in their community, help guide them into their career paths, and motivate students by providing hands-on learning, meeting with future employers, and allowing place for students and teachers who share similar interests.

So here I am to tell my FFA story, and like most nervous freshman in High School, I was scared of finding my purpose and where I would fit in a rather large intimidating school of over 2,500 students. Growing up on a farm and being involved in 4-H for a number of years made my decision to try FFA pretty easy. Agriculture, however, was not always involved in what career paths I chose over the years. I could tell you that at a very young age I once dreamed about being the first woman president, a ventriloquist, and an astronaut. While these are all very prestigious careers none of them quite had to do with agriculture. Going through my adolescent years I can tell you that I struggled with finding who I was, where I fit in, and where I wanted to go in life. It was the FFA organization that provided me with the knowledge and skills to help me find my passion and the ability to act upon it.

FFA can mean a lot of different things to everyone. When I think of the National FFA Organization, I think about an organization that strives to help their members develop premier leadership, personal growth, and career success. I owe a lot to the FFA and am so thankful for the opportunities it has given me over the years. In just a few short months I will be finished with my term as a Missouri FFA state officer. This year I was reminded of the impact we have on the lives of students, and by helping provide a place for students to grow as individuals has made me hopeful for a great generation of agriculturalists to come. I will forever be an FFA nerd and am proud of it.

“Value the past, embrace your future”- Missouri FFA  Association

Leave a Reply

